A new vision for agriculture
momagri, movement for a world agricultural organization, is a think tank chaired by Christian Pèes.
It brings together, managers from the agricultural world and important people from external perspectives,
such as health, development, strategy and defense. Its objective is to promote regulation
of agricultural markets by creating new evaluation tools, such as economic models and indicators,
and by drawing up proposals for an agricultural and international food policy.

European Parliament: Five French members
in the Committee on Agriculture and Rural Development

Frédéric Hénin, Editor-in-Chief

Article published in Terre-net Média1

Polish EPP member Czeslaw Adam Siekierski is the new Chair of the Committee on Agriculture and Rural Development. He succeeds to Paolo De Castro, a member from Italy. Five French members are in the Committee.

The re-election of Martin Schulz as President of the European Parliament was uneventful. By contrast, the July 7, 2014 elections of the 22 presidents for the Parliament’s 20 committees and two sub-committees for the first half of the five-year mandate resulted in several weeks of discussions. The challenge was allocating the positions while respecting both the clout of the European Parliament various political groups and each country’s representativeness.

As a reminder, the European Parliament does not have any absolute majority. The EPP group (the center-right party that includes French UMP party members) only has a few seats more that the S&D (socialists and social democrats) party.

First consequence of the May 25, 2014 elections: The French limited representation in parliamentary committees. In fact, only 50 members out of the 74 who were elected have joined a political group. As they were unable to form a group with other extreme-right members, the 24 members of the Front National group joined the rank of non-attached members.

Hence, France claims two committee presidencies (Fisheries and Budgets) against three in the previous term.


Among the members of the Committee on Agriculture and Rural Development, now chaired by Polish EPP member Czeslaw Adam Siekierski, we count five French members, three of whom were already members in the previous legislature. They are:
  • Eric Andrieu, (S&D), Vice President, who was already member of the Committee in the previous legislature,

  • Michel Dantin, (EPP - UMP), also an outgoing member of the Committee between 2009 and 2014,

  • José Bové, (The Greens - Europe Ecologie-Les Verts)

The two new French members in this parliamentary Committee on Agriculture and Rural Development are Edouard Ferrand and Philippe Loiseau of the Front national and non-attached members in the European Parliament.

Philippe Loiseau is a farmer in the Eure-et-Loir département and a representative from the Centre Region.


Angélique Delahaye EPP member and a farmer, has joined the Committee on the Environment, Public Health and Food Safety. She is also an alternate member in the Committee on Agriculture.

Lastly, Patrick Le Hyaric relinquished his position at the Committee on Agriculture to join the Committee on Employment and Social Affairs.

Jean-Claude Junker, the former Prime Minister of Luxembourg, is the selected candidate to be elected as President of the European Commission. He was also the first appointed president of the Eurogroup between 2005 and 2013.

The positions of President of the European Council and of the High Representative of the European Union for Foreign Affaires and Security Policy currently respectively held by Herman van Rompuy and Catherine Ashton, are at the heart of new negotiations between the 28 European governments. One of these two spots might be go to France.

In the coming weeks, the French Government must also appoint its European Commissioner to replace Michel Barnier, who was Minister of Agriculture until 2009.

1 http://www.terre-net.fr/

Page Header
Paris, 24 June 2019